Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

Curriculum Support


The Division of Learning Services is supporting the Arkansas Department of Education vision of “transforming Arkansas to lead the nation in student-focused education” by restructuring various support systems. One such notable change is the newly created area of Curriculum Support. To increase the level of dedicated support in the field, Curriculum Support is comprised of three units: Humanities, Literacy, and STEM. These three units replace what was formerly known as the Curriculum and Instruction Unit. 

Each unit will oversee standards and course development, professional development, alignment with Arkansas Department of Career Education, state-funded specialists, and other state level support structures surrounding education and policy in the unit’s respective content areas.

The Humanities Unit oversees:

The Literacy Unit oversees:

The STEM unit oversees:

For more information, please contact:

Humanities Unit

Four Capitol Mall; Room 303-B
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-7442

Literacy Unit

Four Capitol Mall; Room 202-B
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-683-2922


Four Capitol Mall; Room 204-B
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-0676


State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More


Learn More


Learn More