Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

State Board of Education

The Arkansas State Board of Education is a nine-member board. In keeping with the requirements of Arkansas Code Annotated §6-11-101, the board is composed of two members from each of the state's four congressional districts, and the remaining member is selected at-large. The governor appoints members for seven-year terms.

Composed of business and community leaders, the State Board of Education represents the diverse population of Arkansas. The board, which meets on the second Thursday and Friday of each month, is the policy-making body for public elementary and secondary education in Arkansas.

The commissioner acts as the ex-officio secretary during State Board meetings. He participates, offering the ADE Division of Elementary and Secondary Education's perspective on agenda items and provides a Commissioner's Report each month. He does not vote. The Arkansas Teacher of the Year participates as a non-voting member.


State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More


Learn More


Learn More